HSE Open Access Research Award 2014

18 December 2014 - 11:56am

The inaugural HSE Open Access Research Awards were presented last Friday, 12th December by the HSE Director General, Mr Tony O’Brien.

This award has been established to recognise the efforts of healthcare professionals and those working in the health care system, that are engaged in research. In 2013, the HSE published a statement on open access publishing in line with the Government’s endorsement of a national statement on open access publishing. The HSE’s Lenus repository will showcase the excellent work of all entrants to the competition.

Link to Youtube video

Speaking at the awards Mr O’Brien paid tribute to the work of researchers in the health services, saying “Research has an important role to play in contributing to the ongoing development of our health services and to the development of professional practice. As has been highlighted by this award, the research-practice gap is being narrowed, and successfully bridgedin many cases.I would like to thank all those who submitted their research for their hard work, dedication and professionalism.”

The overall winner of this year’s award was Dr Tamasine Grimes, a practicing pharmacist at Tallaght Hospital, and Associate Professor at the School of Pharmacy in Trinity College Dublin.  Dr Grimes’ research focuses on medication safety at care transitions and the development of the role of the clinical pharmacist. She is involved in delivering undergraduate and postgraduate programmesand collaborates with colleagues in Pharmacy, Medicine, Surgery, General Practice, Nursing and Health Informatics, at a national and international level. She contributes to a number of national committees and steering groups, bringing her expertise in pharmacy practice and medication safety. She has over 15 years experience in community and hospital pharmacy. Her current work combines research, teaching & learning, and clinical practice.  See her research

The following are the winners of each of the categories who were all the primary authors of research papers, however each paper was written by two or more authors.


Other Winners are

Primary Care                                      Dr Caomhin Mac Giolla Phadraig, Special Care Dentist, Dublin Dental University Hospital Open Access research

Quality and Patient Safety                  Prof. Colum Dunne – Director and Chair of Executive Management Committee & Director of Research, Graduate Entry Medical School, University of Limerick  Open Access research

Acute Hospitals                                  Dr David S Evans - Senior Research Officer, Department of Public Health Merlin Park Hospital Galway Open Access research

National Clinical Programmes            Aisling Sheridan, Department of Public Health/ Clinical Strategy and Programmes Directorate, HSE, Railway St, Navan, Co Meath Open Access research

National Cancer Control Programme   Cathal P O’Brien, Cancer Molecular Diagnostics, Labmed Directorate, St. James's Hospital, Dublin 8  Open Access research

Health and Wellbeing                         Dr Siobhan Jennings, Department of Public Health, Dr. Steevens’ Hospital, Dublin 8   Open Access research

Mental Health                                    Dr Conor O’Neill, Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist National Forensic Mental Health Service, Central Mental Hospital, Dundrum & P/t Lecturer in Forensic Psychiatry at Trinity College Dublin  Open Access research

Social Care                                         Dr Ronan O’Caoimh, Specialist Registrar in Geriatric Medicine, based in St Finbarrs Hospital and University College Cork Open Access Research

Share this: